Andy Pimentel is associate professor in (and vice-chair of) the System and Network Engineering Lab at the Informatics Institute of the University of Amsterdam. In addition, he is director of education at the Graduate School of Informatics.

Andy Pimentel holds the MSc ('93) and PhD ('98) degrees in computer science, both from the University of Amsterdam. He is co-founder of the International Conference on embedded computer Systems: Architectures, Modeling, and Simulation (SAMOS) and is member of the European Network of Excellence on High-Performance Embedded Architecture and Compilation (HiPEAC). His research motto is "Exploring Exploration". That is, his research deals with studying all aspects of design space exploration and system optimization of complex (embedded) computer systems. More specifically, his research interests include system-level modeling and simulation, design space exploration, performance and power analysis, EDA, design and optimization of multi-/many-core systems (in particular MultiProcessor System-on-Chip (MPSoC) systems), computer architecture, embedded systems, and parallel and reconfigurable computing.

He is associate editor of Elsevier's Simulation Modelling Practice and Theory and Springer's Journal of Signal Processing Systems. He has also been guest associate editor of ACM Transactions on Embedded Computing Systems (2009 and 2010), Transactions on HiPEAC (2010), Journal of Systems Architecture (2007 and 2008), and Journal of Signal Processing Systems (2006 and 2010).

Moreover, Andy Pimentel serves (or has served) on the organizational committees of basically all leading (embedded) computer systems design conferences and workshops, such as IEEE/ACM DAC (TPC member), DATE (Track Chair of Design, Methods and Tools track, member of DATE Executive Committee, Topic TPC Chair, TPC member), IEEE ICCD (Topic TPC Co-chair), IEEE/ACM CODES+ISSS (Vice Program Chair in '16, Program Chair in '17, TPC member), IEEE/ACM ICCAD (TPC member), FPL (Local Organization Chair in '07, TPC member), SAMOS (Co-founder, SC member, General Chair in '05 and '11, TPC Chair in '04), IEEE ESTIMedia (TPC Chair in '08 and '09, General Chair in '10, TPC member), and ACM SAC (TPC member)

He is Senior member of the IEEE, member of the IEEE Computer Society, and select member of IFIP Working Group 10.3.